How you see a 99 Cent Store may depend on whether you shop there or not.

I listened to the whole discussion on the 99 Cent Store this morning and I think I have found the common thread that links Deputy Mayor Diaz and Councilmen Masson and Morasco on this issue — they actually shop at the 99 Cent Store.  They do not see it as being less than other stores but rather just another option when folks are looking for a bargain.  Here’s what they had to say:

Councilman Morasco:  My wife shops at the 99 Cent Store, I know a lot of people that shop at the 99 Cent Stores…whenever I get a snack attack that’s where I head because they have the stuff I like to munch on.

Deputy Mayor Diaz:  Personally I like to go there for interesting things like  sandwich bags with holiday prints on them, or wrapping paper or little knicknacks for my kids birthday party grab bags.

Councilman Masson:  I know my wife shops at 99 Cent Stores when we’re doing Calvin [?] stuff, got to get a good deal on things.

Mayor Abed, on the other hand, lumped the 99 Cent Store in with thrift stores, checking cashing services and tattoo parlors.  And although he mentioned being in 99 Cent Stores, he didn’t say it in reference to actually shopping there.  Councilman Gallo didn’t mention shopping at a 99 Cent Store either.

Of course the argument was about more than whether you shopped at a 99 Cent Store.  Councilman Morasco said that every so often he liked to put on my Libertarian hat and talk about the importance of property rights.  He also said he had met with the applicants, liked their plans and felt that allowing them to fill that large empty space could well lead to greater occupancy.  Deputy Mayor Diaz observed When I think of the charming downtown area that we are trying to uplift, I don’t think about this shopping center necessarily, I think Grand Avenue and the side streets between 2nd Avenue and Valley…No offense intended, but this other things just a shopping center, right?  Councilman Masson focused on the need to bring more people downtown.  We need feet on the street to support our downtown businesses and restaurants. I would not be in favor of this going on Grand Avenue…it is in a strip center, it’s not downtown. I like the idea that it will bring more jobs to town.  

I was baffled when Mayor Abed’s argument against making an exception for the 99 Cent Store included the statement I don’t believe we have ever violated the Downtown Specific Plan, I don’t remember that we did so.  But the confusion was quickly cleared up when it was noted that the Council, including the Mayor, had done just that last year by voting to allow John Paul the Great Catholic University on Grand Avenue via a Conditional Use Permit.

In the end, Deputy Mayor Diaz and Councilmen Masson and Morasco voted for what they felt was a sensible use of a space that was not part of the historic downtown and they all could see its potential to revitalize a strip mall that has been struggling.  Councilman Gallo reaffirmed his support of the Downtown Specific Plan (he was on the committee) echoing his vote against having the Catholic University on Grand.  Mayor Abed’s argument, with his  repeated references to the East Valley Parkway of old, seemed to me to encapsulate his frustration that Escondido is not the upscale city he wants it to be, namely San Marcos.

I look forward to having a 99 Cent Store within walking distance of my house.  It gives me a destination for a nice long walk and because I’ll be carrying back whatever I buy, it will also keep me from overspending.  And once it opens its doors, maybe Mayor Abed and Councilman Gallo can take a walk over.  I assume two fiscally conservative guys are always looking for a way to stretch a dollar.

5 thoughts on “How you see a 99 Cent Store may depend on whether you shop there or not.

  1. Kirk Effinger

    The “upscale city of San Marcos” contains a Walmart, a Family Dollar store, and several bodegas…among other things. Having empty storefronts is more of a hindrance to a city’s image than the type of retail establishment in them.

    Reply
  2. Connie

    I, too, take issue with all the tattoo parlors and check cashing stores…but none whatsoever with regard to the 99 cent stores. I frequent Dollar Tree for items I’d pay considerably more for in other locations, especially painting drop cloths, bags of Tootsie Rolls (latest snack “I wanna”) birthday cards etc. To date I’ve yet to shop in an actual 99 cent store even tho’ I’ve heard about the great values. There is one fairly close by so I need to at least stop in to check it out.

    Reply
  3. Homer Farsad

    Sometimes I think that if Olga Diaz was for anything good or bad, Current Mayor Abed would be against. Considering that the electorate will have an easy choice come November 2014.
    We can join Mr. Sam Abed in his worship of Mr. Sam Abed or vote for Olga Diaz who thinks there is room for improving the local government and the way it conducts the citizen’s business.
    Let’s pray that the current mayor will let this one go and not increase police presence and checking shoppers identification for “the safety of the public”.
    Friend of the group “Escondido deserves better”.

    Reply
  4. Young Resident

    Downtown suffers from not a lack of restaurant choices but avoiding modern, relevant attractions such as great retail options that give a nod that Escondido is a city for the future not just time’s gone by. Though there is value to a 99 Cent store and other establishments like them, it is not necessarily the best way to move forward by placing one downtown. If anything we should be attracting quality markets like a Whole Foods that should replace that empty block of a furniture store if you want a chance for economical growth. Escondido has it’s fair share of plenty of affordable food markets to shop at but we need to move towards revitalization plan that encourages a nice balance between upscale and affordability. While personally I am for progressive policies, a 99 Cent store downtown isn’t the way to make things better economically.

    Reply
    1. Connie

      I don’t really think of this location as downtown. Downtown to me is Grand Ave. What difference does it make if a 99 cent store is in a location that used to have Montgomery Ward and still has a TJ Maxx/Marshalls, and fast food?

      Reply

Leave a Comment here. If you would like to respond to an earlier comment, please click the "Reply" button below that comment. Although a box will drop down asking you for information, you do not have to fill it out to leave a comment. If you include an email address or phone number within your comment it will be deleted prior to the posting of your comment. Your comment/reply will not be posted immediately but must go to the moderator first. Please check back later. Thank you for commenting at ESCONDIDO 2014.